Add to watchlist
Back

 

28420-01 - Lecture: Principles of Medical Imaging 3 CP

Semester fall semester 2019
Course frequency Every fall sem.
Lecturers Philippe Claude Cattin (philippe.cattin@unibas.ch, Assessor)
Najat Salameh (najat.salameh@unibas.ch)
Mathieu Sarracanie (mathieu.sarracanie@unibas.ch)
Content This course presents the fundamental principles of medical imaging techniques such as magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), X-ray, computed tomography (CT), ultrasound (US), positron emission tomography (PET), and single photon emission computed tomography (SPECT). For each of these imaging modalities its physical principle, the mathematical methods for image generation and reconstruction, its anatomical and physiological information content and its limitations are discussed.
Learning objectives The objective of this lecture is to introduce the basic physical principles of the imaging systems used in the medical field. The necessary background to understand the imaging devices will be taught.
Bibliography "The Physics of Diagnostic Imaging". David J. Dowsett, Peter A. Kenny, R. Eugene Johnston, Chapman & Hall Medical.
"The Essential Physics of Medical Imaging". Jerrold T. Bushberg, J.Anthony Seibert, Edwin M. Leidholdt Jr., John M. Boone, Williams & Wilkins.
Weblink DBE

 

Language of instruction English
Use of digital media No specific media used
Course auditors welcome

 

Interval weekly
Date 16.09.2019 – 16.12.2019
Time Monday, 09.15-11.00 Gewerbestrasse 14
Date Time Room
Monday 16.09.2019 09.15-11.00 --, --
Monday 23.09.2019 09.15-11.00 --, --
Monday 30.09.2019 09.15-11.00 --, --
Monday 07.10.2019 09.15-11.00 --, --
Monday 14.10.2019 09.15-11.00 --, --
Monday 21.10.2019 09.15-11.00 --, --
Monday 28.10.2019 09.15-11.00 --, --
Monday 04.11.2019 09.15-11.00 --, --
Monday 11.11.2019 09.15-11.00 --, --
Monday 18.11.2019 09.15-11.00 --, --
Monday 25.11.2019 09.15-11.00 --, --
Monday 02.12.2019 09.15-11.00 --, --
Monday 09.12.2019 09.15-11.00 --, --
Monday 16.12.2019 09.15-11.00 --, --
Modules Module: Applications of Machine Intelligence (Master's Studies: Computer Science)
Module: Biomedical Engineering (Master's Studies: Biomedical Engineering)
Assessment format proof of course participation
Assessment details oral exam, 30 min
Assessment registration/deregistration Reg./dereg.: course registr./cancel registr. via MOnA
Repeat examination one repetition, best attempt counts
Scale 1-6 0,5
Repeated registration as often as necessary
Responsible faculty Faculty of Medicine
Offered by Departement Biomedical Engineering (DBE)

Back