Zur Merkliste hinzufügen
Zurück

 

14429-01 - Vorlesung: Development of Therapeutic Antibodies 1 KP

Semester Herbstsemester 2019
Angebotsmuster Jedes Herbstsemester
Dozierende Hermann Gram (hermann.gram@unibas.ch)
Steffen Hartmann (steffen.hartmann@unibas.ch)
Thomas Huber (thomas.huber@unibas.ch)
Frank Kolbinger (frank.kolbinger@unibas.ch)
Roland Preston (roland.preston@unibas.ch)
Daniel Ricklin (d.ricklin@unibas.ch, BeurteilerIn)
Maximilian Woisetschläger (maximilian.woisetschlaeger@unibas.ch)
Inhalt Therapeutic antibodies have evolved into a highly important and rapidly growing sector of modern drug therapy, with several antibody-based drugs being available to the clinic and many more in clinical development. In this lecture series, experts from pharmaceutical industry with broad experience in antibody development will guide through the various aspects of bringing a therapeutic antibody from discovery to the clinic. In particular, the lectures will cover the following topics:
- Structure and characteristics of immunoglobulins, and generation of monoclonal antibodies
- Effector functions and pharmacokinetic properties of antibodies
- Preclinical development, characterization and production of therapeutic antibodies
- Clinical development and therapeutic use of antibody-based therapeutics
- Examples and case studies of therapeutic antibodies in the clinic
- Emerging trends in the discovery and development of antibody-based drugs

As part of the lecture series, we will also organize a guided tour at one of Novartis’ antibody facilities (see special announcement).
Lernziele During this lecture series, the students will learn about:
- the key structural, functional and pharmaceutical features of antibodies
- established and emerging strategies to design antibody-based drugs
- options to produce antibodies at the laboratory or industrial scale
- considerations and examples of using therapeutic antibodies in the clinic
Bemerkungen Film and sound recordings during the course are strictly forbidden (recorders may be confiscated)

 

Unterrichtssprache Englisch
Weblink ADAM
Einsatz digitaler Medien kein spezifischer Einsatz

 

Intervall wöchentlich
Datum 06.11.2019 – 11.12.2019
Zeit Mittwoch, 10.15-12.00 Biozentrum, Sitzungszimmer 106
Datum Zeit Raum
Mittwoch 06.11.2019 10.15-12.00 Uhr Biozentrum, Sitzungszimmer 106
Mittwoch 13.11.2019 10.15-12.00 Uhr Biozentrum, Sitzungszimmer 106
Mittwoch 20.11.2019 10.15-12.00 Uhr Biozentrum, Sitzungszimmer 106
Mittwoch 27.11.2019 10.15-12.00 Uhr Biozentrum, Sitzungszimmer 106
Mittwoch 04.12.2019 10.15-12.00 Uhr Biozentrum, Sitzungszimmer 106
Mittwoch 11.12.2019 10.15-12.00 Uhr Biozentrum, Sitzungszimmer 106
Module Modul: Target Identification/Validation to Discovery of Modulators (Masterstudium: Drug Sciences)
Wahlbereich Master Pharmazie: Empfehlungen (Masterstudium: Pharmazie)
Leistungsüberprüfung Lehrveranst.-begleitend
Hinweise zur Leistungsüberprüfung Electronic written examination at the end of the semester (60 min, iPad)
https://pharma.unibas.ch/de/teaching/pruefungen-exams/performance-assessments/course-accompanying-examinations/
An-/Abmeldung zur Leistungsüberprüfung An-/Abmelden: Belegen resp. Stornieren der Belegung via MOnA
Wiederholungsprüfung keine Wiederholungsprüfung
Skala 1-6 0,5
Wiederholtes Belegen beliebig wiederholbar
Zuständige Fakultät Philosophisch-Naturwissenschaftliche Fakultät, studiendekanat-philnat@unibas.ch
Anbietende Organisationseinheit Departement Pharmazeutische Wissenschaften

Zurück