Zur Merkliste hinzufügen
Zurück

 

11992-01 - Blockkurs: Infection Biology and Epidemiology 15 KP

Semester Herbstsemester 2024
Angebotsmuster Jedes Herbstsemester
Dozierende Nicolas Brancucci (nicolas.brancucci@unibas.ch, BeurteilerIn)
Claudia Daubenberger (claudia.daubenberger@unibas.ch)
Sebastien Gagneux (sebastien.gagneux@unibas.ch)
Jan Hattendorf (jan.hattendorf@unibas.ch)
Manuel Hetzel (manuel.hetzel@unibas.ch)
Jennifer Keiser (jennifer.keiser@unibas.ch)
Stefanie Knopp (s.knopp@unibas.ch)
Pascal Mäser (pascal.maeser@unibas.ch)
Daniel Mäusezahl (daniel.maeusezahl@unibas.ch)
Pie Müller (pie.mueller@unibas.ch)
Christian Nsanzabana (c.nsanzabana@unibas.ch)
Peter Odermatt (peter.odermatt@unibas.ch)
Damien Portevin (damien.portevin@unibas.ch)
Matthias Rottmann (matthias.rottmann@unibas.ch)
Till Voss (till.voss@unibas.ch)
Sergio Wittlin (sergio.wittlin@unibas.ch)
Jakob Zinsstag (jakob.zinsstag@unibas.ch)
Inhalt The Infection Biology and Epidemiology (IBE) block course examines the phenomena of infection with human medically important pathogens from molecular cell biology to epidemiology and public health levels. Infection biology explores life processes of infections from the molecule to the organism and consequences of parasite-host interactions. Epidemiology studies the frequencies and spread of infections and resulting disease in a host population and the factors that determine these frequencies and spread. Methods from molecular and cell biology, microbiology and parasitology, immunology as well as epidemiology and social sciences will be used. The basic knowledge from the elective course «Parasitology and Parasitism» (12233) is assumed.
Lernziele Epidemiological perspective:
- Observing the significance of infections for individuals and society using interdisciplinary approaches.
- Analysing host-parasite relationships and proposing control measures.
Cellular biology perspective:
- Understanding the molecular basis of infections (antigenic variation, transmission, adaptation to host milieus, host cell invasion, etc.).
- Understanding the immunology of different infections and concepts in vaccine and drug discovery.
Participants will identify research questions, analyse/evaluate data and present research results.
Literatur «Medizinische Mikrobiologie», Kayser, Bienz, Eckert und Zinkernagel (Thieme Verlag)
Bemerkungen for biology students only
compulsory attendance
The number of places is limited to 40.
Weblink https://adam.unibas.ch

 

Teilnahmebedingungen Successful completion of the basic studies and the first year of the advanced level in the Bachelor of Biology.
Unterrichtssprache Englisch
Einsatz digitaler Medien Online-Angebot fakultativ

 

Intervall Wochentag Zeit Raum
Block Siehe Einzeltermine
Bemerkungen Block course: 11.11.-20.12.2024

Einzeltermine

Datum Zeit Raum
Montag 11.11.2024 09.15-17.15 Uhr Swiss TPH Neubau, Seminarraum 5
Dienstag 12.11.2024 09.15-17.15 Uhr Swiss TPH Neubau, Seminarraum 5
Mittwoch 13.11.2024 09.15-15.55 Uhr Swiss TPH Neubau, Seminarraum 5
Donnerstag 14.11.2024 09.15-17.15 Uhr Swiss TPH Neubau, Seminarraum 1
Freitag 15.11.2024 09.15-17.15 Uhr Swiss TPH Neubau, Seminarraum 1
Montag 18.11.2024 09.15-17.15 Uhr Swiss TPH Neubau, Seminarraum 4
Dienstag 19.11.2024 09.15-17.15 Uhr Swiss TPH Neubau, Seminarraum 5
Mittwoch 20.11.2024 09.15-17.15 Uhr Swiss TPH Neubau, Seminarraum 6
Donnerstag 21.11.2024 09.15-17.15 Uhr Swiss TPH Neubau, Seminarraum 1
Freitag 22.11.2024 09.15-17.15 Uhr Swiss TPH Neubau, Seminarraum 4
Montag 25.11.2024 09.15-17.15 Uhr Swiss TPH Neubau, Seminarraum 4
Dienstag 26.11.2024 09.15-17.15 Uhr Swiss TPH Neubau, Seminarraum 4
Mittwoch 27.11.2024 09.15-17.15 Uhr Swiss TPH Neubau, Seminarraum 4
Donnerstag 28.11.2024 09.15-17.15 Uhr Swiss TPH Neubau, Seminarraum 1
Freitag 29.11.2024 09.15-17.15 Uhr Swiss TPH Neubau, Seminarraum 5
Montag 02.12.2024 09.15-17.15 Uhr Swiss TPH Neubau, Seminarraum 1
Dienstag 03.12.2024 09.15-17.15 Uhr Swiss TPH Neubau, Seminarraum 6
Mittwoch 04.12.2024 09.15-17.15 Uhr Swiss TPH Neubau, Seminarraum 6
Donnerstag 05.12.2024 09.15-17.15 Uhr Swiss TPH Neubau, Seminarraum 6
Freitag 06.12.2024 09.15-17.15 Uhr Swiss TPH Neubau, Seminarraum 1
Montag 09.12.2024 09.15-17.15 Uhr Swiss TPH Neubau, Seminarraum 4
Dienstag 10.12.2024 09.15-17.15 Uhr Swiss TPH Neubau, Seminarraum 4
Mittwoch 11.12.2024 09.15-17.15 Uhr Swiss TPH Neubau, Seminarraum 4
Donnerstag 12.12.2024 09.15-17.15 Uhr Swiss TPH Neubau, Seminarraum 1
Freitag 13.12.2024 09.15-17.15 Uhr Swiss TPH Neubau, Seminarraum 4
Montag 16.12.2024 09.15-17.15 Uhr Swiss TPH Neubau, Seminarraum 4
Dienstag 17.12.2024 09.15-17.15 Uhr Swiss TPH Neubau, Seminarraum 4
Mittwoch 18.12.2024 09.15-17.15 Uhr Swiss TPH Neubau, Seminarraum 4
Donnerstag 19.12.2024 09.15-17.15 Uhr Swiss TPH Neubau, Seminarraum 1
Freitag 20.12.2024 09.15-17.15 Uhr Swiss TPH Neubau, Seminarraum 4
Module Modul: Blockkurs (Master Studienfach: Biologie)
Modul: Vertiefung Organismische Biologie (Bachelorstudium: Biologie)
Vertiefungsrichtungen: Tier- und Pflanzenwissenschaften und Integrative Biologie (Bachelorstudium: Biologie (Studienbeginn vor 01.08.2022))
Leistungsüberprüfung Lehrveranst.-begleitend
Hinweise zur Leistungsüberprüfung written exam; time and place will follow
An-/Abmeldung zur Leistungsüberprüfung Anm.: Belegen Lehrveranstaltung; Abm.: stornieren
Wiederholungsprüfung keine Wiederholungsprüfung
Skala 1-6 0,5
Wiederholtes Belegen beliebig wiederholbar
Zuständige Fakultät Philosophisch-Naturwissenschaftliche Fakultät, studiendekanat-philnat@unibas.ch
Anbietende Organisationseinheit Schweizerisches Tropen- und Public Health-Institut

Zurück