Add to watchlist
Back

 

10512-01 - Main lecture: Introduction to Physics I 6 CP

Semester fall semester 2018
Course frequency Every fall sem.
Lecturers Michel Calame (michel.calame@unibas.ch)
Dominik Zumbühl (dominik.zumbuhl@unibas.ch, Assessor)
Content The main subjects covered are mechanics and thermodynamics. Knowledge of high school level mathematics is required, including understanding of basic geometry, trigonometry, vectors, and calculus (derivatives and integrals).
Bibliography English: Physics for Scientists and Engineers, 6th Edition by Paul A. Tipler, Gene Mosca (https://www.amazon.com/Physics-Scientists-Engineers-Paul-Tipler/dp/142920124X)
German option: Physik für Mediziner, Biologen, Pharmazeuten, 8. Auflage by Alfred Trautwein, Uwe Kreibig, Erich Oberhausen (https://www.amazon.de/Physik-Mediziner-Biologen-Pharmazeuten-Gruyter/dp/3110178397)
Comments The course consists of two 2-hour lectures per week and one 2-hour exercise session per week. Optional exercises will be assigned and reviewed in the exercise sessions throughout the semester. The final exam is based on and resembles these exercises. The lectures and exercise sessions are conducted in English. Whenever possible, all course materials, including exercises and the final exam will be available in both English and German.

 

Language of instruction English
Weblink Physics I
Use of digital media No specific media used
Course auditors welcome

 

Interval weekly
Date 20.09.2018 – 21.12.2018
Time Thursday, 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday, 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Date Time Room
Thursday 20.09.2018 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 21.09.2018 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Thursday 27.09.2018 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 28.09.2018 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Thursday 04.10.2018 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 05.10.2018 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Thursday 11.10.2018 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 12.10.2018 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Thursday 18.10.2018 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 19.10.2018 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Thursday 25.10.2018 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 26.10.2018 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Thursday 01.11.2018 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 02.11.2018 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Thursday 08.11.2018 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 09.11.2018 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Thursday 15.11.2018 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 16.11.2018 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Thursday 22.11.2018 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 23.11.2018 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Thursday 29.11.2018 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Thursday 06.12.2018 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 07.12.2018 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Thursday 13.12.2018 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 14.12.2018 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Thursday 20.12.2018 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 21.12.2018 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Modules Modul Physik (Bachelor's degree subject Biology) (Pflicht)
Module Basics of Science: Physics (Bachelor Geosciences)
Module Physics (Bachelor Biology (Start of studies before 01.08.2013)) (Pflicht)
Module Physics (Bachelor's Studies: Pharmaceutical Sciences (Start of studies before 01.08.2018)) (Pflicht)
Module: Physics (Bachelor Biology) (Pflicht)
Module: Physics (Bachelor's Studies: Pharmaceutical Sciences)
Assessment format main lecture exam
Assessment details Registration deadline, type, duration, date and further information about "Examen" are published on http://philnat.unibas.ch/examen/
Assessment registration/deregistration Reg.: via MOnA; dereg.: Dean of Studies off. (in writing)
Repeat examination one repetition, best attempt counts
Scale 1-6 0,5
Repeated registration no repetition
Responsible faculty Faculty of Science, studiendekanat-philnat@unibas.ch
Offered by Departement Physik

Back