Add to watchlist
Back

 

56908-01 - Seminar: Tagebücher. Kleine und grosse Daten und ihre Analyse am Beispiel von Tagebüchern 3 CP

Semester spring semester 2020
Course frequency Once only
Lecturers Gerhard Lauer (gerhard.lauer@unibas.ch, Assessor)
Content Diaries are a personal document and a documentary source of more or less general interest. The seminar introduces the different methods of scalable reading, the close and the distant reading of small and large amounts of texts. The seminar includes excursions and block events.
Learning objectives The objective is to learn how to scale text analysis practices. Students will read and discuss basic papers on the genre of diaries and of the many techniques of scalable reading.
Comments Evtl. mit Blockveranstaltungen zusammen mit Prof. Marko Demantowsky

 

Course application Belegen
Language of instruction English
Use of digital media No specific media used

 

Interval weekly
Date 24.02.2020 – 25.05.2020
Time Monday, 16.15-18.00 Kollegienhaus, Lernraum 208
Date Time Room
Monday 24.02.2020 16.15-18.00 Kollegienhaus, Lernraum 208
Monday 02.03.2020 16.15-18.00 Fasnachtsferien
Monday 09.03.2020 16.15-18.00 Kollegienhaus, Lernraum 208
Monday 16.03.2020 16.15-18.00 Kollegienhaus, --
Monday 23.03.2020 16.15-18.00 Kollegienhaus, --
Monday 30.03.2020 16.15-18.00 Kollegienhaus, --
Monday 06.04.2020 16.15-18.00 Kollegienhaus, --
Monday 13.04.2020 16.15-18.00 Ostern
Monday 20.04.2020 16.15-18.00 Kollegienhaus, --
Monday 27.04.2020 16.15-18.00 Kollegienhaus, --
Monday 04.05.2020 16.15-18.00 Kollegienhaus, --
Monday 11.05.2020 16.15-18.00 Kollegienhaus, --
Monday 18.05.2020 16.15-18.00 Kollegienhaus, --
Monday 25.05.2020 16.15-18.00 Kollegienhaus, --
Modules Modul: Creating, Analyzing and Visualizing of Data (Master's degree subject Digital Humanities)
Assessment format continuous assessment
Assessment details Portfolio: Students will take part on the excursions and write a research report in which they introduce a question of their choice using techniques to handle small and big data.
This report will be assessed as either a pass or a fail.
Assessment registration/deregistration Reg.: course registration; dereg.: not required
Repeat examination no repeat examination
Scale Pass / Fail
Repeated registration no repetition
Responsible faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, studadmin-philhist@unibas.ch
Offered by Digital Humanities Lab

Back