Add to watchlist
Back

 

44702-01 - Main lecture with practical course: Physics of Life I 4 CP

Semester fall semester 2021
Course frequency Every fall sem.
Lecturers Sebastian Hiller (sebastian.hiller@unibas.ch, Assessor)
Richard Neher (richard.neher@unibas.ch)
Content - Classical Thermodynamics
- Statistical Thermodynamics
- Applications to Biomolecules
- Ligand Binding and Protein Interactions
- Reaction Kinetics
- Biophysics of Proteins and Folding
- Enzymes and their Mechanisms
- The Relevant Scales: Sizes, Energies, Concentrations
- Random Walks and Diffusion
- Introduction to Polymer Physics
- Chromatin Organization
- Models of Gene Regulation
- Membrane-less Organelles and Liquid-Liquid Phase Transitions
- Discrimination and Fidelity
Bibliography part 1: Gordon Hammes, Sharon Hammes-Schiffer, Physical Chemistry for the Biological Sciences, John Wiley & Sons, Hoboken, New Jersey, second edition ISBN 978-1-118-85900-1
part 2: Physical Biology of the Cell, Phillips et al, ISBN: 9780815344506
Weblink https://adam.unibas.ch

 

Language of instruction English
Use of digital media No specific media used

 

Interval weekly
Date 23.09.2021 – 23.12.2021
Time Thursday, 10.15-12.00 Biozentrum, Hörsaal U1.131
Friday, 10.15-12.00 Biozentrum, Hörsaal U1.131
Date Time Room
Thursday 23.09.2021 10.15-12.00 Biozentrum, Hörsaal U1.131
Friday 24.09.2021 10.15-12.00 Biozentrum, Hörsaal U1.131
Thursday 30.09.2021 10.15-12.00 Biozentrum, Hörsaal U1.131
Friday 01.10.2021 10.15-12.00 Biozentrum, Hörsaal U1.131
Thursday 07.10.2021 10.15-12.00 Biozentrum, Hörsaal U1.131
Friday 08.10.2021 10.15-12.00 Biozentrum, Hörsaal U1.131
Thursday 14.10.2021 10.15-12.00 Biozentrum, Hörsaal U1.131
Friday 15.10.2021 10.15-12.00 Biozentrum, Hörsaal U1.131
Thursday 21.10.2021 10.15-12.00 Biozentrum, Hörsaal U1.131
Friday 22.10.2021 10.15-12.00 Biozentrum, Hörsaal U1.131
Thursday 28.10.2021 10.15-12.00 Biozentrum, Hörsaal U1.131
Friday 29.10.2021 10.15-12.00 Biozentrum, Hörsaal U1.131
Thursday 04.11.2021 10.15-12.00 Biozentrum, Hörsaal U1.131
Friday 05.11.2021 10.15-12.00 Biozentrum, Hörsaal U1.131
Thursday 11.11.2021 10.15-12.00 Biozentrum, Hörsaal U1.131
Friday 12.11.2021 10.15-12.00 Biozentrum, Hörsaal U1.131
Thursday 18.11.2021 10.15-12.00 Biozentrum, Hörsaal U1.131
Friday 19.11.2021 10.15-12.00 Biozentrum, Hörsaal U1.131
Thursday 25.11.2021 10.15-12.00 Biozentrum, Hörsaal U1.131
Friday 26.11.2021 10.15-12.00 Dies Academicus
Friday 26.11.2021 10.15-12.00 Dies Academicus
Thursday 02.12.2021 10.15-12.00 Biozentrum, Hörsaal U1.131
Friday 03.12.2021 10.15-12.00 Biozentrum, Hörsaal U1.131
Thursday 09.12.2021 10.15-12.00 Biozentrum, Hörsaal U1.131
Friday 10.12.2021 10.15-12.00 Biozentrum, Hörsaal U1.131
Thursday 16.12.2021 10.15-12.00 Biozentrum, Seminarraum U1.193
Friday 17.12.2021 10.15-12.00 Biozentrum, Hörsaal U1.131
Thursday 23.12.2021 10.15-12.00 Zoom statt, Findet via
Modules Electives Bachelor Physics (Bachelor's Studies: Physics)
Module: Computational Biology (Bachelor's Studies: Computational Sciences)
Module: Molecular Basis of Biology (Bachelor's Studies: Computational Sciences (Start of studies before 01.08.2018)) (Pflicht)
Module: Molecular Biology (Bachelor's Studies: Nanosciences) (Pflicht)
Module: Physical Chemistry/ Biophysical Chemistry (Bachelor's Studies: Biology)
Wahlbereich Grundstudium Bachelor Physik: Empfehlungen (Bachelor's Studies: Physics)
Assessment format main lecture exam
Assessment details Written exam after the 3rd semester, 120 minutes.
Registration deadline, form, duration, date and further information on the exams will be published on https://philnat.unibas.ch/de/examen.
(Provisional exam date see: https://bio.unibas.ch/de/pruefungen/examen/)
Assessment registration/deregistration Reg.: via MOnA; dereg.: Dean of Studies off. (in writing)
Repeat examination one repetition, best attempt counts
Scale 1-6 0,5
Repeated registration no repetition
Responsible faculty Faculty of Science, studiendekanat-philnat@unibas.ch
Offered by Departement Biozentrum

Back