Add to watchlist
Back

 

22638-01 - Lecture: Monte Carlo Methods in Physics 4 CP

Semester spring semester 2022
Course frequency Irregular
Lecturers Kai Hencken (k.hencken@unibas.ch, Assessor)
Content Random numbers and algorithm to generate them. Pseudorandom number generators, quasirandom numbers. Methods to generate random numbers according to arbitrary distribution. Markov Chain and Markov Chain Monte Carlo. Application of Monte Carlo methods to different problems in physics: High dimensional integrals, simulation of particle interactions and particle transport, simulation of thermodynamic systems and in quantum physics
Learning objectives Understand the underlying principles and difficulties of generation good random numbers. Usage of Monte Carlo methods to solve high dimensional problems with some specific applications e.g. in particle transport and thermodynamic systems.
Comments Language: English, German possible

 

Admission requirements Knowledge of mathematical foundations, especially with respect to analysis and linear algebra. Knowledge of one computer language suitable for scientific simulations.
Language of instruction English
Use of digital media No specific media used
Course auditors welcome

 

Interval weekly
Date 21.02.2022 – 30.05.2022
Time Monday, 16.00-18.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 4.1
Date Time Room
Monday 21.02.2022 16.00-18.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 4.1
Monday 28.02.2022 16.00-18.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 4.1
Monday 07.03.2022 16.00-18.00 Fasnachtsferien
Monday 14.03.2022 16.00-18.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 4.1
Monday 21.03.2022 16.00-18.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 4.1
Monday 28.03.2022 16.00-18.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 4.1
Monday 04.04.2022 16.00-18.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 4.1
Monday 11.04.2022 16.00-18.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 4.1
Monday 18.04.2022 16.00-18.00 Ostern
Monday 25.04.2022 16.00-18.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 4.1
Monday 02.05.2022 16.00-18.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 4.1
Monday 09.05.2022 16.00-18.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 4.1
Monday 16.05.2022 16.00-18.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 4.1
Monday 23.05.2022 16.00-18.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 4.1
Monday 30.05.2022 16.00-18.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 4.1
Modules Module Specialisation: Physics (Master's Studies: Nanosciences)
Module: Specialisation (Master's Studies: Physics)
Assessment format continuous assessment
Assessment registration/deregistration Reg./dereg.: course registr./cancel registr. via MOnA
Repeat examination no repeat examination
Scale 1-6 0,5
Repeated registration as often as necessary
Responsible faculty Faculty of Science, studiendekanat-philnat@unibas.ch
Offered by Departement Physik

Back