Add to watchlist
Back

 

37814-01 - Lecture with practical courses: Semiconductor Physics 4 CP

Semester spring semester 2022
Course frequency Irregular
Lecturers Ilaria Zardo (ilaria.zardo@unibas.ch, Assessor)
Content This lecture provides a general overview of the fundamental aspects of semiconductor physics, of the electrical and optical properties of semiconductors with examples of their application in devices. The following topics will be covered:

- Electronic band structure
- Vibrational properties of semiconductors and electron-phonon interaction
- Defects in semiconductors
- Electrical transport
- Optical properties
- Effect of quantum confinement on electrons and phonon in semiconductors
Learning objectives Introduction to semiconductor physics
Bibliography Peter Y. Yu, Manuel Cardona: "Fundamentals of Semiconductors" (4th Edition, Springer, 2010)
Comments In FS22, if possible this course will be held in presence, Tuesday at 10.15 to 12.00. However, it might take place as an online course via Zoom, depending on the COVID related regulations.
Weblink nanophononics.unibas.ch

 

Admission requirements Physik I-II, Condensed Matter
Language of instruction English
Use of digital media No specific media used

 

Interval weekly
Date 22.02.2022 – 01.06.2022
Time Tuesday, 10.15-12.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 3.12
Wednesday, 12.00-13.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 3.12
Date Time Room
Tuesday 22.02.2022 10.15-12.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 3.12
Wednesday 23.02.2022 12.00-13.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 3.12
Tuesday 01.03.2022 10.15-12.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 3.12
Wednesday 02.03.2022 12.00-13.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 3.12
Tuesday 08.03.2022 10.15-12.00 Fasnachtsferien
Wednesday 09.03.2022 12.00-13.00 Fasnachtsferien
Tuesday 15.03.2022 10.15-12.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 3.12
Wednesday 16.03.2022 12.00-13.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 3.12
Tuesday 22.03.2022 10.15-12.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 3.12
Wednesday 23.03.2022 12.00-13.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 3.12
Tuesday 29.03.2022 10.15-12.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 3.12
Wednesday 30.03.2022 12.00-13.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 3.12
Tuesday 05.04.2022 10.15-12.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 3.12
Wednesday 06.04.2022 12.00-13.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 3.12
Tuesday 12.04.2022 10.15-12.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 3.12
Wednesday 13.04.2022 12.00-13.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 3.12
Tuesday 19.04.2022 10.15-12.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 3.12
Wednesday 20.04.2022 12.00-13.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 3.12
Tuesday 26.04.2022 10.15-12.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 3.12
Wednesday 27.04.2022 12.00-13.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 3.12
Tuesday 03.05.2022 10.15-12.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 3.12
Wednesday 04.05.2022 12.00-13.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 3.12
Tuesday 10.05.2022 10.15-12.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 3.12
Wednesday 11.05.2022 12.00-13.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 3.12
Tuesday 17.05.2022 10.15-12.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 3.12
Wednesday 18.05.2022 12.00-13.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 3.12
Tuesday 24.05.2022 10.15-12.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 3.12
Wednesday 25.05.2022 12.00-13.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 3.12
Tuesday 31.05.2022 10.15-12.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 3.12
Wednesday 01.06.2022 12.00-13.00 Physik, Seminarzimmer 3.12
Modules Module Specialisation: Physics (Master's Studies: Nanosciences)
Module: Specialisation (Master's Studies: Physics)
Assessment format continuous assessment
Assessment registration/deregistration Reg./dereg.: course registr./cancel registr. via MOnA
Repeat examination no repeat examination
Scale 1-6 0,5
Repeated registration as often as necessary
Responsible faculty Faculty of Science, studiendekanat-philnat@unibas.ch
Offered by Departement Physik

Back