Add to watchlist
Back

 

45402-01 - Lecture: Foundations of Distributed Systems 8 CP

Semester fall semester 2016
Course frequency Every fall sem.
Lecturers Florina M. Ciorba (florina.ciorba@unibas.ch)
Heiko Schuldt (heiko.schuldt@unibas.ch, Assessor)
Christian Tschudin (christian.tschudin@unibas.ch)
Content The course will introduce basic algorithms and protocols needed for parallel and distributed systems. It will lay the foundations for the specialized courses on Computer Networks, High Performance Computing, and Distributed Information Systems that will be offered in the spring semester.
Learning objectives The goal of this course is to understand the basic principles of distributed and parallel systems. A major question will be how large-scale problems can be parallelized and distributed across compute entities (distribution can span the entire spectrum from cores in a multi-core machine up to nodes in a geographically distributed and potentially heterogeneous system).
Bibliography Will be announced in the course.
Weblink link to course web page

 

Admission requirements You sucessfully completed the following Bachelor courses (or have at acquired the corresponding skills): Basics of Programming, Programming Project, Computer Architecture & Operating Systems, Web Data Management, Internet Technologies, peferrably also Databases.
Language of instruction English
Use of digital media No specific media used

 

Interval weekly
Date 22.09.2016 – 23.12.2016
Time Thursday, 10.15-12.00 Spiegelgasse 1, Seminarraum 00.003
Friday, 10.15-12.00 Bernoullistrasse 30/32, kleiner Hörsaal 120
Date Time Room
Thursday 22.09.2016 10.15-12.00 Spiegelgasse 1, Seminarraum 00.003
Friday 23.09.2016 10.15-12.00 Bernoullistrasse 30/32, kleiner Hörsaal 120
Thursday 29.09.2016 10.15-12.00 Spiegelgasse 1, Seminarraum 00.003
Friday 30.09.2016 10.15-12.00 Bernoullistrasse 30/32, kleiner Hörsaal 120
Thursday 06.10.2016 10.15-12.00 Spiegelgasse 1, Seminarraum 00.003
Friday 07.10.2016 10.15-12.00 Bernoullistrasse 30/32, kleiner Hörsaal 120
Thursday 13.10.2016 10.15-12.00 Spiegelgasse 1, Seminarraum 00.003
Friday 14.10.2016 10.15-12.00 Bernoullistrasse 30/32, kleiner Hörsaal 120
Thursday 20.10.2016 10.15-12.00 Spiegelgasse 1, Seminarraum 00.003
Friday 21.10.2016 10.15-12.00 Bernoullistrasse 30/32, kleiner Hörsaal 120
Thursday 27.10.2016 10.15-12.00 Spiegelgasse 1, Seminarraum 00.003
Friday 28.10.2016 10.15-12.00 Bernoullistrasse 30/32, kleiner Hörsaal 120
Thursday 03.11.2016 10.15-12.00 Spiegelgasse 1, Seminarraum 00.003
Friday 04.11.2016 10.15-12.00 Bernoullistrasse 30/32, kleiner Hörsaal 120
Thursday 10.11.2016 10.15-12.00 Spiegelgasse 1, Seminarraum 00.003
Friday 11.11.2016 10.15-12.00 Bernoullistrasse 30/32, kleiner Hörsaal 120
Thursday 17.11.2016 10.15-12.00 Spiegelgasse 1, Seminarraum 00.003
Friday 18.11.2016 10.15-12.00 Bernoullistrasse 30/32, kleiner Hörsaal 120
Thursday 24.11.2016 10.15-12.00 Spiegelgasse 1, Seminarraum 00.003
Friday 25.11.2016 10.15-12.00 Dies Academicus
Thursday 01.12.2016 10.15-12.00 Spiegelgasse 1, Seminarraum 00.003
Friday 02.12.2016 10.15-12.00 Bernoullistrasse 30/32, kleiner Hörsaal 120
Thursday 08.12.2016 10.15-12.00 Spiegelgasse 1, Seminarraum 00.003
Friday 09.12.2016 10.15-12.00 Bernoullistrasse 30/32, kleiner Hörsaal 120
Thursday 15.12.2016 10.15-12.00 Spiegelgasse 1, Seminarraum 00.003
Friday 16.12.2016 10.15-12.00 Bernoullistrasse 30/32, kleiner Hörsaal 120
Thursday 22.12.2016 10.15-12.00 Spiegelgasse 1, Seminarraum 00.003
Friday 23.12.2016 10.15-12.00 Bernoullistrasse 30/32, kleiner Hörsaal 120
Modules Electives Master Computer Science: Recommendations (Master Computer Science (Start of studies before 01.08.2016))
Modul Concepts of Distributed Systems (Master's degree subject Computer Science)
Modul Praxis aktueller Informatikmethoden (Master's degree subject Computer Science (Start of studies before 01.08.2016))
Module Applications of Machine Intelligence (Master Computer Science)
Module Computer Sciences: Core Area (Master's degree subject Computer Science (Start of studies before 01.08.2016))
Module Computer Sciences: Core Area (Master Computer Science (Start of studies before 01.08.2016))
Module Concepts of Distributed Systems (Master Computer Science) (Pflicht)
Assessment format continuous assessment
Assessment details At the end of the semester, individual oral examinations will take place. Admission to the oral examination requires at least 2/3 of the points from the exercises.
Date: January 24 / 25 / 26, 2017
Assessment registration/deregistration Reg./dereg.: course registr./cancel registr. via MOnA
Repeat examination no repeat examination
Scale 1-6 0,5
Repeated registration as often as necessary
Responsible faculty Faculty of Science, studiendekanat-philnat@unibas.ch
Offered by Fachbereich Informatik

Back