Add to watchlist
Back

 

10512-01 - Main lecture: Introduction to Physics I 6 CP

Semester fall semester 2016
Course frequency Every fall sem.
Lecturers Michel Calame (michel.calame@unibas.ch)
Martino Poggio (martino.poggio@unibas.ch, Assessor)
Content The main subjects covered are mechanics and thermodynamics. Knowledge of high school level mathematics is required, including understanding of basic geometry, trigonometry, vectors, and calculus (derivatives and integrals).
Bibliography English: Physics for Scientists and Engineers, 6th Edition by Paul A. Tipler, Gene Mosca (https://www.amazon.com/Physics-Scientists-Engineers-Paul-Tipler/dp/142920124X)
German option: Physik für Mediziner, Biologen, Pharmazeuten, 8. Auflage by Alfred Trautwein, Uwe Kreibig, Erich Oberhausen (https://www.amazon.de/Physik-Mediziner-Biologen-Pharmazeuten-Gruyter/dp/3110178397)
Comments The course consists of two 2-hour lectures per week and one 2-hour exercise session per week. Optional exercises will be assigned and reviewed in the exercise sessions throughout the semester. The final exam is based on and resembles these exercises. The lectures and exercise sessions are conducted in English. Whenever possible, all course materials, including exercises and the final exam will be available in both English and German.

 

Language of instruction English
Weblink Physics I
Use of digital media No specific media used
Course auditors welcome

 

Interval weekly
Date 22.09.2016 – 23.12.2016
Time Thursday, 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday, 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Date Time Room
Thursday 22.09.2016 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 23.09.2016 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Thursday 29.09.2016 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 30.09.2016 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Thursday 06.10.2016 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 07.10.2016 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Thursday 13.10.2016 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 14.10.2016 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Thursday 20.10.2016 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 21.10.2016 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Thursday 27.10.2016 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 28.10.2016 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Thursday 03.11.2016 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 04.11.2016 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Thursday 10.11.2016 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 11.11.2016 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Thursday 17.11.2016 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 18.11.2016 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Thursday 24.11.2016 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 25.11.2016 10.15-12.00 Dies Academicus
Thursday 01.12.2016 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 02.12.2016 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Thursday 08.12.2016 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 09.12.2016 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Thursday 15.12.2016 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 16.12.2016 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Thursday 22.12.2016 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 23.12.2016 10.15-12.00 Physik, --
Modules Modul Physik (Bachelor's degree subject Biology) (Pflicht)
Module Basics of Science: Physics (Bachelor Geosciences (Start of studies before 01.08.2015))
Module Basics of Science: Physics (Bachelor Geosciences)
Module Physics (Bachelor Biology (Start of studies before 01.08.2013)) (Pflicht)
Module Physics (Bachelor Pharmaceutical Sciences) (Pflicht)
Module: Physics (Bachelor's program: Biology) (Pflicht)
Assessment format main lecture exam
Assessment details Registration deadline, type, duration, date and further information about "Examen" are published on http://philnat.unibas.ch/examen/
Assessment registration/deregistration Reg.: via MOnA; dereg.: Dean of Studies off. (in writing)
Repeat examination one repetition, best attempt counts
Scale 1-6 0,5
Repeated registration no repetition
Responsible faculty Faculty of Science, studiendekanat-philnat@unibas.ch
Offered by Departement Physik

Back