Add to watchlist
Back

 

10512-01 - Main lecture: Introduction to Physics I 6 CP

Semester fall semester 2017
Course frequency Every fall sem.
Lecturers Michel Calame (michel.calame@unibas.ch)
Martino Poggio (martino.poggio@unibas.ch, Assessor)
Content The main subjects covered are mechanics and thermodynamics. Knowledge of high school level mathematics is required, including understanding of basic geometry, trigonometry, vectors, and calculus (derivatives and integrals).
Bibliography English: Physics for Scientists and Engineers, 6th Edition by Paul A. Tipler, Gene Mosca (https://www.amazon.com/Physics-Scientists-Engineers-Paul-Tipler/dp/142920124X)
German option: Physik für Mediziner, Biologen, Pharmazeuten, 8. Auflage by Alfred Trautwein, Uwe Kreibig, Erich Oberhausen (https://www.amazon.de/Physik-Mediziner-Biologen-Pharmazeuten-Gruyter/dp/3110178397)
Comments The course consists of two 2-hour lectures per week and one 2-hour exercise session per week. Optional exercises will be assigned and reviewed in the exercise sessions throughout the semester. The final exam is based on and resembles these exercises. The lectures and exercise sessions are conducted in English. Whenever possible, all course materials, including exercises and the final exam will be available in both English and German.
Weblink Physics I

 

Language of instruction English
Use of digital media No specific media used
Course auditors welcome

 

Interval weekly
Date 21.09.2017 – 22.12.2017
Time Thursday, 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday, 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Date Time Room
Thursday 21.09.2017 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 22.09.2017 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Thursday 28.09.2017 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 29.09.2017 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Thursday 05.10.2017 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 06.10.2017 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Thursday 12.10.2017 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 13.10.2017 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Thursday 19.10.2017 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 20.10.2017 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Thursday 26.10.2017 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 27.10.2017 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Thursday 02.11.2017 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 03.11.2017 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Thursday 09.11.2017 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 10.11.2017 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Thursday 16.11.2017 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 17.11.2017 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Thursday 23.11.2017 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 24.11.2017 10.15-12.00 Dies Academicus
Thursday 30.11.2017 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 01.12.2017 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Thursday 07.12.2017 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 08.12.2017 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Thursday 14.12.2017 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 15.12.2017 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Thursday 21.12.2017 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Friday 22.12.2017 10.15-12.00 Physik, Grosser Hörsaal, 1.03
Modules Modul Physik (Bachelor's degree subject Biology) (Pflicht)
Module Basics of Science: Physics (Bachelor Geosciences)
Module Basics of Science: Physics (Bachelor Geosciences (Start of studies before 01.08.2015))
Module Physics (Bachelor Biology (Start of studies before 01.08.2013)) (Pflicht)
Module Physics (Bachelor Pharmaceutical Sciences) (Pflicht)
Module: Physics (Master's Studies: Biology) (Pflicht)
Assessment format main lecture exam
Assessment details Registration deadline, type, duration, date and further information about "Examen" are published on http://philnat.unibas.ch/examen/
Assessment registration/deregistration Reg.: via MOnA; dereg.: Dean of Studies off. (in writing)
Repeat examination one repetition, best attempt counts
Scale 1-6 0,5
Repeated registration no repetition
Responsible faculty Faculty of Science, studiendekanat-philnat@unibas.ch
Offered by Departement Physik

Back